Confused about "subdomains" or "add on"use

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused about "subdomains" or "add on"use

I am still setting up my new site 21stwebsite.com which offers products to the medical transcritpion industry. I have reconditioned call in systems for docs and trans companies and would like to have reciprocal links to and from a friend's site. However he has many of the same competing products so I would like to have a "landing page" (if this is the right term) that only displays product info for my call in systems and will not allow any linking to my regular site where viewers from his site could see our competing products. Do I need to set up a 'subdomain" for this or an 'add on" domain or can i just have the landng-page-only link but no links to my real home page, etc.? there would only be an e-mail and 800 number contact from this page. As you can see I am a newbie here....

Thanks in advance as I am sure this is an easy thing to do that I am over thinking or something.

Dick Cummins

Re: Confused about "subdomains" or "add on"use

Your best bet, in order to keep it totally seperate from your other site, is to set up an add-on domain. You will have to purchase an additional domain name.

If you use a subdomain your URL would look like www.subdomain.maindomain.com If, however, you use an add-on it appears as a totally seperate site: www.subdomain.com

VodaHost

Your Website People!
    1-302-283-3777 North America / International
    02036089024 / United Kingdom
    291916438 / Australia

------------------------

Top 3 Best Sellers

Web Hosting - Unlimited disk space & bandwidth.

Reseller Hosting - Start your own web hosting business.

Search Engine & Directory Submission - 300 directories + (Google,Yahoo,Bing)

Comment

Girl: