• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sceh
    Private

• Jan 2009

Customer password management

First, I am a newbie but I must say that after looking at other web tools like MS Expression, CoffeeCup,NVU etc and tearing my hair out in frustration, BlueVoda is simply the best piece of software I have ever used. When I get my site done, you can host it too.

Now the question - probably asked before but I can't find it. I want potential customers to be able to log on with a password so that they can view their account. I will be selling photos - people can contribute for resale or buy what's there so they need to open an account with a password. How?

thanks and sorry if it has already been answered.

rgds
    stuart
  • Collectors-info
    General

• Feb 2006

Re: Customer password management

Hi, when you get your site done, you will have to host it with VH as BV wont work with another server. (But they are good value)
    On the password part, you could create a password protected folder & have a shop within this folder. There is quite a few scripts out there that might make life a little easer if you are selling images. This link is a freebie & comes with about 6 templates built in.
    Regards Chris.

Collectables, Collecting, collectors-info.com

www.chrismorris.co.uk

House build project

Comment

• navaldesign
      General & Forum Moderator

• Oct 2005

Re: Customer password management

There are different ways of paswword protecting specific areas of your site.
      The simplest one, is to create a protected folder in your site. This is easily done if you host with VH because your hosting account includes a wizard for creating password protected folders.
      However, this method has some disadvantages:
      1. Users can NOT autocreate their login details, nor the folder. You will need to create them, then let your customers know the login details.
      2. This way EACH customers will need to have his own folder